wiggle while you work

October 26, 2010

Oh Creative One! Last night, ooof. My husband is away on a business trip, my daughter had a issues with sleeping, I was gestating, and the only thing mildly entertaining on television was “Beyonce and Friends” on a video network here in the U.K. She is a wonderfully silly dancer. But, really, I am a sillier dancer. I love to dance. I am the first to boogie my woogie on any dance floor and I have the reputation and stories amongst family, friends, and strangers to prove it. It made me wonder if I missed my calling and then I remember that I don’t even have a voice to find even if I wanted to sing. It will just never be my day job. But, rather than careening down a the path of existential crisis whilst watching Beyonce as I usually would, I stopped to consider movement in conjunction with my work. Beyonce is a great singer, but her work has a different energy when she does her silly yet good gyrations. Some kids squirm while reading because their bodies need input even while doing a relatively sedentary task. My son reads better whilst standing up for this fact alone. Rebecca Solnit has written an entire book, “Wanderlust,” about the act of walking on creative beings from mathematicians to painters to philosophers.

Curious Creative One, consider how to add movement when you work. Can you hold your paintbrush differently, let your body tap its foot while you write, talk a walk while learning a new tune? Let the energy of movement feed your creativity.

Leave a Reply

