wise

October 15, 2010

Oh Creative One, I am a bit of a chameleon at times. I try things on for size to see if they fit. I heard an interview with Pavarotti before his death. In it, he said he enjoyed all kinds of music but rap. He did not understand or like rap. I took that on for a while. I mean why not? He was a master in an astounding old school sort of way. But, then found myself missing Missy Elliot, Jay-Z, Black-Eyed Peas, Fugees, Grand Master Flash, Beastie Boys, well there is a list that continues. I also listen to these artists as much as I listen to Mumford and Sons, Roberta Flack, MIA, Kasabian and Yo-Yo Ma – most lately his Appalacian Journey and Appalacian Waltz work.

Groovy Creative One! Your groove is your own. Uniquely your own. Rock to what you want as long as no one gets hurt. Just because you are relatively inexperienced compared, say, to Pavarotti or Alice Munro, or Cormac McCarthy, doesn’t mean that you aren’t wise to what makes your soul hum.

Leave a Reply

