trust me

September 24, 2010

Oh Creative One, I’ve got the chance to help a friend with a writing project. It is really exciting for me. I’m thrilled that she asked. The project is neat. I’m set to start and then. Then. Well, then. Then. I get afraid. Afraid of what? That I won’t perform as she thinks I can. That I will make her cross if my preference clashes with hers. That even if she finds what I do suitable for the project, it won’t be interesting to its audience. The fear is nearly smothering.

Fretful Creative One! I wish I could just take all your fears away and put them in a jar high up on a shelf. But, I also, deeply respect that those fears are a part of who you are. So, simply a reminder. A reminder to trust your creative interests. A reminder to trust your creative community. A reminder to trust the thrill of being asked to contribute to something larger. I’m glad you’re here.

Leave a Reply

