Consider the Blueberry

August 26, 2010

Oh Creative One. Last night I read, “Blueberries for Sal,” to my daughter before bedtime. Every time I say the word blueberry aloud to my daughter, I think of the wee bush my friend Tracy grew in her garden in Seattle. I also think of the bushes I dodged through playing tag with my sisters in Colorado waiting for adults to finish all that talking they did. I think of how they explode in my mouth and how I described that pop to my son when he was about 16 months old and ate his first blueberry from Tracy’s garden. I think of the blueberry jam I can get at the small grocer’s in the village up the road. All these images and sensations and more for just a word as simple as “blueberry.”

Distinctive Creative One, I’m sure your personal meaning for the word “blueberry” has a depth that is quite different than mine. Though we share the dictionary definition, we also have our personal definitions. Consider the vast and variant definitions that your audience will bring to your work. For example, perhaps seeing yellow will call to mind a viewer’s favorite and yellow childhood blanket you will never know about as the viewer admires the yellow shoe you’ve painted. Respect that your audience contributes to the creative act you have so bravely embarked upon.

Leave a Reply

