Compliment Whore

August 2, 2010

Oh Creative One, I am a bit of a compliment whore. The bast payment for my art is another’s adoration. I want to hear from someone else how bright I am. Unique. How beautiful my art is. How my work inspires or reminds another to think a different way. But, I’ve begun to wonder the detriment of this whorish need. If I need to listen to how great my work is, then I must also listen to how disappointing and unnecessary my work is. External feedback can be great and can be terribly dangerous to the creative.

Necessary Creative One. Surely. Accept praise and accept criticism. But only so far. Remember that knowing your core creative abilities and letting them be your guide is the best and most honest place to get feedback for your art.

Leave a Reply

