how to find a ‘yes’

May 12, 2010

Oh, Creative One. Today, I came home and looked at all I had not done with my laundry, with my children, with my spouse, with my life. I became overwhelmed. I thought, “There’s no way I can put my writing out there today because I just can’t bear to hear ‘no’ today.” I went for a walk with my kids out in the Scottish hills. On the moors, I thought, “I can’t hear ‘no’ today, but I might be able to tomorrow and I most definitely could hear ‘yes’ tomorrow.” I submitted again.

Nervous Creative One. Go on. Keep trying. If you hear something that’s unbearable just now, I will listen for you. But if you don’t even try there is no way you will ever get to hear the word ‘yes.’

Leave a Reply

