tweet

April 15, 2010

Oh Creative One! Last night I was surrounded. I was cornered by an ill-behaved anaphylactic son, a grumpy daughter, a crappy rental we can’t get out of, rejection letters, stories that fell flat, no family and few friends in a new town, an unexpectedly tight budget in a foreign country, an extended family that can’t visit me, no work for me that would even cover the cost of a sitter… Dammit. This list goes on and is boring. But, last night while surrounded by macadam and worries at my husband’s office parking lot, my son and I found a red-throated British bird. We stood there in the crisp spring evening. We watched it sing its beautiful and varied song as it sat in a secure crook of a budding tree branch.

Tired Creative One. Take a deep breath. Keep your heart open even when your work has you in an uncomfortable spot. Listen. Pay attention to the details. Soon you’ll find a surprise that makes your heart sing.

2 Responses to “tweet”

  1. Saara said

    I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been through a rough path. (I can not beleive anyone would send a rejection letter to you of all people. What were they thinking?)

    And I’m so glad you have the ability to choose to listen. I realize there is a real person behind these beautiful blog posts, and that there is a choise: do I choose to listen today, or not — and, I realize it can’t always be an easy choise to make. I’m so glad you chose to listen, even today, when the world around you was uglier and noisier than usual.

Leave a Reply

