I’m an Add-er

March 19, 2010

Oh Creative One! In my writing classes I was taught, as early as high school, that one should err on the side of taking stuff away. Slash and burn left the best pieces. It proved difficult when my first drafts were always shorter, spindlier, bonier than the rest. Cutting left virtually nothing on the page and certainly not a poem either.

Self-sufficient Creative One. Imagine my joy when I found out that I’m not a slash and burn writer. I’m an add-er. My drafts are rarely finished til I’ve gone over and over and over them – adding as I go more than subtracting. You are exactly the artist that you are. Only use guidelines in your process of discovery rather than the laws of your art. So glad you’re here! See you Monday!

One Response to “I’m an Add-er”

  1. kseverny said

    there is such truth in this

Leave a Reply

