Soul-humming good

March 9, 2010

Oh Creative One. So, you and I are going to do something a little different this week. We are going to “put our stuff out there.” We are going to say things like, “I’m a writer,” when asked what we do instead of “I’m a project manager,” or “I don’t work outside the home.” We are going to say, “Here, here is a sample of the work I do” and send it out to agents or put it up for sale or show it to a coffeeshop owner who likes to put artwork on her walls. As we do these things, the risk for rejection is ever increasing and it is just hard. It is often times too much for me. I get told “NO!” so often by 2 and 5 year-olds, I can’t bear to hear it from rational adults over something that had started out being just for me.

Rejected Creative One. Morgan Freeman had an interview on “Inside the Actor’s Studio” and he said that he always had someone come around right when he was about to give up after a rejection and say, “You can do this.” If you have a life outside of simply “being an artist,” you most likely do not have someone telling you that “you can do this.” This blog is here to remind you that if your work makes something inside you feel just right, then you can do this. You absolutely can do this. I will never guarantee that you will become a big star or a well-paid artist. I will, however, guarantee that you will have the absolute luxury of knowing how to make your soul hum.

Leave a Reply

