Wish Not

March 5, 2010

Oh Creative One! I’ve got another debilitating sinus infection. I know I’m sick because, after staring for hours into the sky outside my window, I don’t feel bored or like I want to get up. Another few hours would be great. Yet, when I went to bed last night I was hell bent on beating myself up. “I wish I had written more.” “I could have at least gotten that query letter out.” “I could’ve…” But I’ve worked long enough to know that if I don’t stop that “should” voice in my head, I will be so beaten up I can’t work when I do feel better.

Tired Creative One. If you hold a job outside of your art, most likely you have a hard time finding time to create. Don’t beat yourself up. There are plenty of others outside your art to critique you. Instead, this weekend, relish every minute you’ve got to create and respect every bit that you make. See you Monday.

Leave a Reply

