and refuse thy name

January 28, 2010

Oh Creative One! My son has a classmate that is the “chancer” in the group. It is a positive word used to describe a boy that is exasperating at times and ingenious at others. Some classmate or friend or teacher or lover has called your work by a name. A good name, a questionable name, but a name. It is the name that sticks. It is the word that has crept in and the word that you use to evaluate your work as yours. Is your work “refreshing” or “delightful” or “sad” or “rough” or “gloomy?” You know that word that I’m talking about.

Named Creative One! That classmate might be a “chancer,” but he might also only be a 5 year old boy figuring out his world. Maybe next week or maybe next year he will be a “thinker” or “a funny one” or  “a caring sort” if he weren’t saddled with a name already. Remember all that you love about your work. Deny yourself those names you’ve taken as your own. Find new ones that more aptly describe just how you are figuring out your world with your art.

7 Responses to “and refuse thy name”

  1. As much as I can understand right now, I think you’re right!

  2. I admire the time and effort you put into your blog. I wish I had the same drive 🙂

  3. I’ve recently started a blog, the information you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

  4. Doesn’t it take up a lot of time to keep your blog so interesting ?

  5. best acai said

    Very good blog post I love your site keep up the great posts

Leave a Reply

