Fear Not

January 13, 2010

Oh Creative One! My two-year-old bites. Mostly, she bites her big brother and leaves huge, scary welts on the back of his shoulder. I wish she would learn to swear at him as it’s much more hygenic. Last night she wanted to say something like, “You $#@!@ self-absorbed brat! Give me my hedgehog back!” Instead she screamed a sanity-wrenching scream and bit him before I could intervene. This morning, she wanted to say, “I love you, Mama,” on my way out the door just like her big brother said to me. Instead she looked deep into my eyes, thought a bit and breathed heavily while she tried to figure out how to say it. She ended up saying, “Love, love, you, me, mama, love,” and gave me a snotty raspberry kiss on my cheek.

Adored Creative One. Like my daughter, I’m sure so much gets lost between what your brain wants to make and what actually comes out of your creative self. Fear not. I offer you a reminder that complete and perfect creations are not always to the point. I would have your metaphorical passionate declaration of love and a snotty kiss than your tidy and grammatical statement of love. Go ahead, give it a try.

One Response to “Fear Not”

  1. Beautifully written, once again. My eyes got misty. You put my recent thoughts into words in a way I never could.

    I’m longing for that state of mind you are describing. I’m not quite there yet!

Leave a Reply

